Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its popularity have on individuals and society?

In recent times, consumers have not taken into consideration items that are necessary for survival but are seeking to amuse themselves by purchasing luxury items. I agree that excessive buying of products will reflect on a family's economic situation, and if they need to solve it, they should reset their priorities. In the beginning, the main reason why some people have been looking to buy interacting products is because of the promotional campaigns. However, campaigns have been quite effective in convincing several consumers to add more items to their shopping carts without any priority. This means that buying behavior helps to lessen stress, although that attitude has negative results via wasting time. For instance, according to Alexandria University studies, if youth spend too much time in stores, they will have negative attitudes and try to shun sports activities. Moreover, studies have shown that those who have no habit of excessive buying spend a lot of time on useful deeds. Thus, it is recommended to observe our consumption to reduce inessential items. In addition, the general consequences of excessive buying include wasting time and money. In other words, when a consumer watches videos of an influencer who asks their followers to purchase some sponsored items, they set these products as a high priority without thinking. A prime example is when snack products with zero nutritional value are promoted. Consumers will increase their purchases as they are influenced by those celebrities, and that will impact society and the economy once we have some people being controlled with our purchases. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that shopping has merits and demerits in case we overuse shopping or do not sort our priority list. In my opinion, there are many constructive ways to manage our purchases.