some people think that the parents of children who commit crimes should also recieve punishment, do you agree or disagree

Some people believe parents should be punished if their children commit crimes. While this idea may make some guardians more responsible, I disagree. In this essay, I will discuss the main reasons for my opinion and suggest better solutions based on real examples from different countries. Not all crimes by young people are the result of bad parenting. Teenagers can be influenced by friends, social media, or personal stress. For example, in the UK, police records show that many young offenders came from stable and caring families but were pressured by peers to join shoplifting gangs. Similarly, in Japan, cases of cyberbullying often happen without the custodian knowing, as the internet gives children private spaces to act. In these situations, punishing legal representatives would be unfair and would not solve the real cause of the problem. Instead of giving punishments, governments should focus on prevention and early support. In Singapore, for example, community programmes offer counselling and mentoring to at-risk teenagers, which has reduced juvenile crime rates. In Finland, schools work closely with the overseer through workshops that teach how to guide teenagers and spot early signs of bad behaviour. These methods address the root causes and create a safer environment without making innocent caretakers suffer. In conclusion, although carers are important in teaching children right and wrong, they should not be punished for crimes they did not directly cause. The best way to reduce youth crime is through education, community support, and early intervention, as shown by successful examples from countries like Singapore and Finland