The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend

In the last decade, western countries have seen a rise in the number of children who are overweight. Specifically, it has incremented by 20 per cent. This essay will discuss some of the reasons behind it and the consequences of this tendency. To begin with, it can be seen that now children are living a more sedentary life. In comparison with years ago, young people spend more time at home playing video games than in the park running with their friends. The manager of Central Park reports that in the last decade there has been a reduction of 45 per cent in the number of children that go to the park and perform physical sports. This example is a clear representation of children living a sedentary life which contributes to being overweight. Children being overweight have various negatives effects on their lives. Firstly, it can cause them to be bullied as they might look different than the other kids. In relation to this, a study shows that children who are obese tend to be bullied more at school than those who have a normal weight. Secondly, younger people who have a higher weight are at risk of suffering from cardiovascular problems. For instance, being obese causes the heart to work harder which could result in strokes. So, children who are overweight could have impacts on their social lives and health. In conclusion, in the last decade,more children have become overweight. It has happened as children are living a more sedentary life, as well as they are eating more fast food than vegetables. Overall, It has contributed to reducing their quality of life.