Some older people struggle with the use of modern electronic technology such as smartphones, computers. What are the reasons and give your solutions.

In the modern world, technology has evolved more than ever before. But the past generation is often struggling to familiarize with the latest tech gadgets such as mobile phones and laptops. Throughout this essay, I will explain two possible reasons for this difficulty and provide possible ways to overcome that. To begin with, some of these e-devices are completely new to some adults and with their age, it is not easy to quickly adapt to something new. It is like you are going to school for the first time. Everything is new and you are often uncomfortable and it takes time to get used to the environment. Moreover, the lack of education is another barrier for older people to get used to mobile gadgets. More often than not, English is required to handle these gadgets. If your English literacy is not perfect, you might struggle to use these devices. For instance, a study done in Europe has found out that 80% of people between 60-80 are refrain from using computers because their English knowledge is low. However, there are certain steps that can be taken to overcome the above issues. Firstly, it is important to provide proper guidance to the older generation to get familiar with high-tech devices. Especially, the young generation today could lead the way and show adults the techniques and methods to use modern technology properly. Secondly, many tech-giants have introduced a plethora of language options and other helping methods so anybody can get the luxury of using these high-tech items. For example, my father is 68 years old and he has never used a mobile phone until 2018 but with proper guidance and the phone facilities,he is surfing through his mobile as good as any young adult today. To sum up, for the older generation, it could be difficult to get their heads around with the latest technology although with proper education and with facilities provided by electronic service providers, it has become far easier.