In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

From the past decades, technology has advanced enormously.With the invention of cell phones, the life of people has become easier, where they can not only make calls but also use different apps for online payments. This change has many pros and cons which will be discussed in the essay. To commence with, the major advantage is, now it is not required to carry cash or ATM cards everywhere when you have apps like Paytm and PayPal in your mobile. This has made the payment so easy that one can pay the vendor by just entering money and tapping on Pay button. Secondly, this trend will help the trees as well. For instance, cashless payment will reduce the paper usage as there will be lesser notes and bank receipts that directly save the cutting of trees. Industries will use the minimum amount of trees in the paper industries. It is rightly said, every coin has a flip side because this modification leads to some disadvantages too. The online scam is the main drawback of using payment method from mobile phones where the personal data can be leaked using the various apps containing the debit/credit card information. Even this year, many websites were banned in countries due to this reason. Furthermore, if a person loses their smartphone and caught by unsuspicious hands, they can make any transactions leading to a big loss. Also, it will be really tough for older people to learn this technology where they have a habit of withdrawing cash from banks and at this age,learning applications will not be easy for their mind. In a nutshell, it is apt to conclude that, though these updations in technology have brought a lot of convenience and comforts to people life, however,the data loss from mobile will be a real failure for this. The government should take some adequate steps for data privacy and security of stored data in the apps.