Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.What is the reason for doing this?Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that children have been overly enforced by the parents to prosper in their life. There are several reasons for such an approach, but I am inclined to believe it to be negative. Most parents have too much concern about the future career of their offsprings. Owing to the fact of cut-throat competition these days, they think that being a successful person is imminent and will bring a lot of opportunities for their young ones. For example, many believe that becoming an engineer or doctor would provide financial stability. Actually, academic pressure is not the only burden, these young birds are required to excel in extracurricular activities as well. Another attributing factor is the intense desire to succeed in life which almost everyone tries to imbibe on their toddlers. Nevertheless, this enforcement proves to be disadvantageous for juveniles as it may expose them to immense stress. As a result, this may lead to poor psychological development and may also impact academic results. Similarly, rapid pressures from parents for same activities can raise procrastination on them, which might be obstacles to learn new skills. Thus, pressurizing to thrive in this competitive world could be detrimental for a child’s mental development. According to the statistics,there have been 62% suicide cases reported in India for the age group of 12-24. Another drawback is the emotional maladjustment a child is prone to at a very young age, which may result in problems of interpersonal relationships with his parents. In conclusion, though enforcement of parents might help to gain the success of children, I believe that this could be psychologically disadvantageous for them.