Some people say that physical education classes are an important part of a child’s education. Others believe that it is more important to focus on academics during school time. Discuss both these views, and give your opinion.

In the present date and age where the society is on the path of breaking out of the old and accustomed educational practices and norms, the debate between whether to include physical education in a school ’s curriculum, still receive mixed views from the intellectuals around the world. It has been claimed by many scientific studies that the most crucial age for a child’s mental and physical development is between the age of 7 to 17 years. As children of this age group spend a considerable amount of their time in school, mandating the physical education as a course in the school curriculum is of utmost importance. The time spent indulging in sports and other physical activities not only rejuvenates a child’s mind but also sharpen his agility and endurance. Another study supporting this notion claims that participating in sports increases brain activity in children, which in turn helps them to perform better in their academics. One prominent belief profoundly debated on this topic is that, engaging in physical activities in school diverts the students from their main aim of excelling in their school academia and launching their careers with high paying jobs. This line of thought questions the relevance of including physical education in the school curriculum as this consumes a student’s precious time in some activity that is of least importance as compared to important subjects like Maths and Science. Another point put forward favouring this notion advocates that parents should be held responsible for a child’s physical health as they are the primary source of a child’s upbringing. The points mentioned above feel like the two sides of a same coin to me, both speak about a child’s success in life but the ways to achieve this goal make the difference. I would like to conclude this essay by a saying – Health is Wealth, if any individual has the best of health, he/she can achieve any goal in life. If the foundation of a building; in this case- health, the building (future) is bound to collapse at the slightest of disturbance.