Although glabalisation can be positive for some nations' economies, the negative impact on local communities should not be ignored. Do you agree or disagree?

While globalisation contributes to the economic growth of some countries, some argue that the drawbacks associated with it should not be taken for granted. This essay completely agrees with this statement because its disadvantages, such as the spread of diseases, and damage to the environment, can be detrimental to one country. To begin with, one of the significant disadvantages of globalisation is that it can easily transfer disease from one border to another. Because of the ease of travel among nations, the spread of disease became quicker too, which can lead to outbreaks. For instance, the coronavirus has spread quickly to multiple nations and it killed millions of people on the planet. And it took some time before countries were able to recover from this pandemic. Thus, the detrimental effects of globalisation should not be overlooked. In addition to that, globalisation contributes to the damage to the environment. The investment of rich countries in developing nations allows them to utilize the resources available domestically. However, they may exploit the resources of the local community leaving nothing to them. Companies may prioritize their profit over implementing sustainable practices. For example, most mining companies in the Philippines are owned by foreign investors. This has led to the deforestation of mountains, and as a result, the country always experiences extreme flooding whenever there is a typhoon. In conclusion, though globalisation can help improve the economy, its disadvantages outweigh its advantages. Thus, I believe that the drawbacks associated with it, such as the possible transmission of infections and its negative impact on the environment, must not be disregarded.