It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree

By the city ageing, efforts have been done to maintain the society look new. Recently, constructing new buildings prefers to repair the old ones due to the higher expense of maintenance. The author disagrees with this approach. Based on two main reasons, firstly the cultural aspect of the old building is not deniable. Secondly, the development of new buildings is way more harmful to the environment. Building architecture holds the legacy of generations and contains a majority of public culture within. For instance, The gene of middle age designing defines the Barcelona, a marvellous city in the south of Spain, constructing new buildings instead of Gaudi's masterpieces would be even considered as an insult by the citizen of Barcelona. Therefore, for iconic and historical cities will be impossible to replace old buildings with new ones. On the other hand, developing new constructions could cause various damage to the environment. New building requires a variety of raw materials and extraction of that release a huge amount of CO2 and other chemical components as well as the destruction of natural resources. Thus, the maintenance of old buildings is more environmentally friendly. Consequently, repairment is the better choice. In conclusion, cities with a rich history can not replace their heritage with modern structures. In addition, construction of new buildings is more environmentally expensive. Hence, the author disagrees with the statement of the question. In her point of view, more and more city will follow repairment strategy due to its advantages and opportunity of tourism industry development.