Without capital punishment our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Crime is prevalent these days. The death penalty is considered as a necessary tool to control violence in society to make our lives more secure and reduce the high level of violent crime activities. In my opinion, I moderately disagree with this point of view. This essay will argue why capital discipline is relatively an effective way but not an essential way to control violence. The supporters of capital punishment have reasons to believe that it plays a vital role to deter criminals from commit a violent crime like murder. As it has a strong deterrent effect on potential criminals, they are more likely to reconsider whether to commit criminal activity or not. Furthermore, some people think that it serves as an opportunity for the victims' families to take revenge for these innocent people. For example, many people tend to be in favour of imposing severe punishment on criminals when a particular case is discussed on social platforms. As a result, capital discipline is regarded as the just and logical punishment for the crime of violence to curb the crime rate and ensure the safety of the public. Despite the death sentence might control violence, it can not be deemed as an essential way to prevent crime. For instance, a recent survey reveals that the crime rate in many parts of the world is not associated with the implement of capital discipline. Not to mention, if there is any miscarriage of justice, the result of a death sentence can not be changed. Also, it is hard to say whether the punishment of restricting freedom for an extremely long time have more effective deterrent effects on these potential criminals than a death sentence. Therefore, the death sentence is just one of the ways to tackle the criminal problems. In conclusion, the crime rate is incredibly increasing nowadays. This essay argued why the death penalty is not as necessary as some people consider. In my view, capital discipline is not always essential and people should explore more suitable ways to solve the problem of crime based on different circumstances.