In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In various nations around the world, many people advocate taking a gap year to work or travel before beginning one’s tertiary education. While this offers a few advantages, there are also some disadvantages worth considering. There are two main benefits to students travelling or working before their university education. First, through travelling, they will be able to expand their horizons. When students go overseas, they will be exposed to different cultures and customs. As a result, they gain a deeper understanding of the world. In addition, students who work will learn to appreciate the value of money. This is because they realize the struggle involved in earning a wage. For example, one of my friends travelled to Europe just after finishing his bachelor's, thus he got exposed to a new culture which in turn helped him to get placed in a Multinational company. On the other hand, various drawbacks may be noted. In the first place, travelling could cause people to feel homesick. Many students have not been apart from their family and friends before so when they travel, they may miss these people. In extreme circumstances, students may even become depressed. Additionally, students who work may not want to return to their studies. The reason for this is that they may enjoy earning money and becoming financially independent. For instance, my cousin started working in a workshop as a salesman after finishing high school, unfortunately, he couldn't complete his graduation after that. In conclusion, if the student takes a gap year, they could gain valuable experience and learn to become more independent in relation to money. However, they may also become homesick and end up not continuing their studies. Therefore, it is necessary to weigh the benefits against the drawbacks carefully before deciding as to whether students should go on such an adventure.