Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different views about what could be done to improve public health. Whereas some people claim that having a bigger number of sports facilities would benefit the population, others object to that view and argue that this measure is ineffective. I tend to agree with the latter because, from my point of view, building sports premises is just one among a lot of other policies which should be implemented in this area. On the one hand, it is widely known that the benefits of playing sports include proper weight management, efficient functioning of the heart and lower cholesterol levels. Moreover, if there were more local sports centres, sedentary individuals of all ages would be more likely to make exercise a regular part of their lives, rather than just collapsing in front of a screen every evening. On the other hand, some individuals believe that interest in sports is not universal and additional facilities might simply attract the already fit, not those who need to improve their health. Also, they claim that high tax penalties could be imposed on high-fat food products, tobacco and alcohol as excessive consumption of these contribute to poor health. As far I am concerned, teaching children at school how to eat more healthily and teaching them how to cook would be much more effective, as most part of the health issues people have nowadays, such as hypertension and diabetes, is a result of a bad diet. Moreover, the government should encourage citizens, especially the elderly, to have periodic check-ups in order to control illnesses when they are still treatable. Take cancer as an example. Early detection of this disease greatly increases the chances of successful treatment. However, a late diagnosis may make a cure impossible and result in high expenses to public hospitals and clinics. To sum up, in my view, focusing on sports facilities is too narrow an approach and would not have the desired outcomes. People should be encouraged to adopt a more preventative posture and healthier eating habits.