Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning through television program is one of the effective methods for the young, and advocates for it state that watching TV should be encouraged at home and school. I partly agree with the above statement since children do gain more knowledge through programs, but this method should not be promoted as a highly useful way in education. I agree that watching television is a powerful mean of delivering knowledge because the programs are in video format with colourful images and lively sounds, and they are more effective than books or audiotapes. In other words, the knowledge transmitting through audio-visual illustrations is retained longer in the minds of children. For example, cooking programs will become less monotonous since children can follow the actions they saw on the videos. On the other hand, even though learning through TV can bring benefits, adults should strictly monitor this activity. The explanation is that looking at the screens for long hours will make children’ minds dull. Children passively receive information as they do not have to use brains to solve any problems actively. As a result, it would be detrimental to the holistic development of the young. For instance, if children watch videos for long-term, their literacy performance can be reduced due to the fact that they do not talk with other people or write any letters when they are busy looking at the screens. In conclusion, learning by TV can be a useful teaching approach in case the adults know how to use it to promote learning experiences. However, overusing it could lead to imbalanced development for children.