Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, it is argued that undergraduates should be given the opportunity to study in any unit regardless of their sex. I do agree with the above statement and I will explain why throughout this essay. Firstly, with globalization, gender equality is a hot topic. it is considered as a factor in almost all situations. similarly, male and female counterparts should have the right to study what they prefer without taking their gender into consideration. By giving either sex fewer chances, universities are creating a foundation for a massive issue. For example, a study done in Europe has found out that universities in Qatar do not allow female students to study medicine as a subject. it is a heated discussion even in their parliament. Thus, it is fundamental to treat everybody equally in terms of education without considering their sex as it can be the root of the gender equality problem. Secondly, all humans are unique and we all have many different talents that can be useful. By limiting the area of studies, the students might not have the chance to identify their best skills and sometimes young adults may be forced to study something that is even not their cup of tea. This can also jeopardise the future of students creating a massive skill gap in society. For example, in 2018, Sri Lanka had a massive scarcity of male nurses because nursing was not allowed for men in Sri Lanka. Hence, men and women should have equal chances to choose subjects as they all have various skills. To sum up, in order to promote gender equality and to utilize all the young talents in future, tertiary education centres should give chances to male and female students equally.