In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

One cannot deny that encouragement to children is of the utmost importance in education. Some people state that there exist a plethora of drawbacks; however, I am of the opinion that the pros outweigh the cons. I will explore the rationale for two sides as well as proffer justification on my own viewpoint. Regarding those who see more disadvantages, there are some reasons. One supportive claim is that it leads to deeper depression for children when it comes to failure. More specifically, if parents encourage their child, who wants to be a dancer, to keep dancing despite the fact that he/she does not have a talent, it would result in experiencing severe failure for the child at last. Thus, if youngsters are not aware of the limits themselves, mere having hope would not help them improve achievement, rather detrimental. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that there are more merits for children to encourage anything they can reach the goal with hard work. The obvious reason is that it would lead to a pertinent aptitude for their lives. My personal experience could be an example. When I was young, my parents always bolster my curiosity, so I had little fear to try new activities such as art, music, and dance. Even though there were some failures in lots of trials, countless trials led me to look for the ultimate direction and goal in my life. To sum up, I maintain that there are more advantages than disadvantages for children to be taught that they can make anything come true if doing the best.