Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

Nowadays, we all live in communities which are under the control of the laws from governments. Even though people keep whining about their freedom, I still agree with the idea that we need a certain amount of laws and rules to run humans societies. Firstly, humans are incredibly social beings, and we have herd behaviour which means we need others to thrive and survive. While we live together in peace, we can cooperate and creates more benefit for less cost and makes our lives easier and better. As a result, humans need social laws. To be more specific, they are community agreements and change to reflect our temporary times. These rules and regulations ensure that humans can survive and meet our basic needs. For example, we have shelters to live, foods to eat, and clothes to wear. Secondly, laws are made to protect us from the evil in humans due to the fact that if given a chance, many people can engage in all kinds of dangerous and harmful conducts. For instance, they can become serial killers or even eat other human beings. Without a doubt, laws keep many people from misbehaving because cultural values and criminal laws constrain humans. Many people’s decision whether or not to commit “wrongful acts” will depend on whether that conduct is legal or illegal, the type of punishment prescribed, and the likelihood of getting caught. In conclusion, the nature of humans dictates the necessity of laws and regulations. They build up the harmony in the communities as well as protect everyone from evil thoughts.