Many people like to wear fashionable clothes. Why do you think this is the case? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

Wearing fashionable clothes are becoming increasingly popular among several people. This essay discusses why this is the case and why it is a negative development for our community. There are two reasons which are responsible for cultivating this attitude. For instance, social media has revolutionized the manner in which individuals socialize creating a virtual competition of status where peers are pressured to post pictures with trendy clothes to raise the popularity bar. In addition, advertisement has increased steadily over the last decades practically forcing society to purchase as there is an uninterrupted exposure to propaganda on television, newspapers, throughout the city’s walls and the internet. As a result, compulsive buying has significantly increased in the current generation impacting their values and quality of life. The long-lasting habit of dressing fashionably is a negative attitude. For example, many people face financial outbreaks as a result of following trends just for the sake of status which eventually leads to depression as they struggle to pay off their debt. Additionally, the compulsive behaviour that is developed often leads to individuals becoming irrationally attached to items that they do not need often occupying a tremendous amount of space in their homes and lives. Therefore, more and more families not only need to seek help to pay their debts often by taking high-interest loans but also psychological aid to re-educate their children on the values for a meaningful life. In conclusion, society takes a hard cultural and financial hit as the current generation dresses just for the sake of impressing. Each individual, in my opinion, should balance their values on the social importance of clothing as it can potentially lead to bankruptcy and depression.