The disadvantages of tourism in less developed countries are as great as the advantages. What is your opinion?

Many believe that tourism has given significant help and implications in poor nations at the same time. This essay believes that aiding the economy has a bigger weight in comparison to the risk of environmental sabotage it may bring to a country. Tourism, especially in unwealthy lands, is an essential form of livelihood. This is because in a tourist spot, jobs are created for the locals and different tax-paying industries inclined to travel are established. For instance, Boracay is a white sand beach island in the Philippines which is flocked by millions of visitors in and out of the country. Hotels, restaurants, spas, recreational areas, malls and the like are built around the island. As a result, people have occupations that provide their needs and taxes imposed to establishments and tourists become revenues for the government that can serve as funds for other expenses. Overall, it boosts income for both individuals and the community. However, the downside of the travel industry is its detrimental effect on the environment. People come and go at a fast pace, and so are the garbages they leave. Furthermore, businesses erected due to the demand for accomodating visitors can alter the natural settings or even disfigure the lands occupied by the buildings. For example, a condominium that was built behind the Philippine's national hero's monument was highly debated because it became an eyesore, especially on photos. Nonetheless, the government should impose strict laws and policies regarding waste and land management and use their revenues in implementation to avoid and resolve the disagreeable consequences of tourism. In conclusion, visiting undeveloped countries in the form of leisure and recreation has remarkably aided in boosting the economy as it provides means of livelihood and income. Nonetheless, the unsightly environmental effects it brings can be hindered by means of a proper and systematic approach by the government.