Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Public health is a growing concern, with many countries reporting increasing levels of obesity. Some believe the problem can be addressed by adding more sports facilities, while others think this may not be enough. A closer look at the problem will help in assessing these views. Adding sports facilities would certainly be an attractive idea to some. However, this proposal does assume that the main reason people are unhealthy is that they lack access to such facilities. In reality, a combination of factors are to blame for a great deal of public health issues, and a lack of exercise is only one of these. Among other key factors are poor diet, work stress, and a lack of time to address them. Furthermore, sophisticated equipment is not essential for getting fit; walking or running in the streets would also achieve this. Thus, if a lack of facilities is not responsible for current health problems, simply adding more will not solve them. Clearly, other measures are required to improve public health. If people lack the time to take care of themselves, then we need to find a way to address this. This means that, as a society, we need to encourage the idea that taking time out from the pressures of work has health benefits. In this way, not only will work stress be reduced, but people will also have more time to exercise. The issue of diet can be tackled by persuading people to cook nutritious meals themselves rather than choosing a faster alternative. Nevertheless, these solutions will take time and, for those who cannot reduce their working hours, are likely to be ineffective. Seemingly, when it comes to solving complex health problems, there is no simple solution. In conclusion, in my view, giving time -poor people greater access to sports facilities will not be effective and is too simplistic a solution. Other measures are clearly required, but any action taken to improve public health requires a change in lifestyle, and this needs the cooperation of everyone involved.