University students always focus on one specific subject, but some people think that universities should encourage their students to study a wide range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some argue that higher institutions should allow flexibility in course selection for students to attend courses other than their major classes, while some believe that these institutions offer only single major to students. I completely agree with the former statement because students can deepen their knowledge of their subject-area through attending other courses, and furthermore, they can obtain wider career choices upon graduation. College students are able to gain more insights into their major if they are encouraged to participate in other major courses. Investing all three years in college on a single subject does not necessarily translate into acquiring more knowledge because most university-level subjects require critical perspectives, and this can only be cultivated through encountering other subjects and assessing the subject-area from different angles. For instance, my major was History and it was only when I took "International Security" module offered by the Politics department that I was able to fully comprehend how nuclear arms-race in particular has exacerbated the Cold War dynamics. Moreover, if universities allow their students to attend various classes outside of their major, students can have greater career options in various industries. It is unmistakably clear that the career choice for students with a single major will be strictly confined to their own subject-area, whereas for those who took modules from varying departments are able to learn and gain more information about different industries and thereby exposed to wider employment chances. For instance, after I graduated my university from reading Journalism with attending 10 business classes, I was eligible to apply and land a job at a Japanese conglomerate. To conclude, I believe that university students should be encouraged to participate in various classes including their majors as they not only can cultivate alternative insights of their major discipline, but also they can expand their career options.