Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather that secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is a discussion about when a person should starts learning a new language. There are some experts who believe that this type of education is more effective in primary school than in secondary school. I also agree with them. This essay will discuss about possible advantages of this, and how it can outweigh disadvantageous aspects. First and foremost, I reckon that it is better to learn a different idiom sooner as possible, because when you are a child, your mind is more open to new information than when you are older. I can use my own experience as an example, I started to learn English when I was 6 years old, I was the first of my class to start to learn a different language, and a neuroscientist once told me that this was the reason which allowed me to learn faster than the others from my classroom. There are people who can say that if a student didn´t appreciate a new language when she was a child, she can feel blocked in learning it when she gets older. I believe that this can happen but it comprises a minority of cases. Learning new languages is very important to a person in an individual and professional aspects, and this awareness come with time. Whoever starts the studies of a foreign languages early in life, will have time to develop this type of awareness, and probably because of that, she will be motivated to continue studying it. In the global culture which we are living, being able to speak more than one language is a valuable skill. Earlier a person is exposed to new languages, better for her, because she will have more time to learn it, practice it, and finally, be able to speak it fluently.