There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Nowadays, the method of applying a final exam is growing in schools and colleges, leaving continual assessments behind. There are several drawbacks and benefits about such a pproach. In this essay, I will discuss and support some of them with examples. To begin with, exams might bring some issues for students. For instance, being put under pressure, as students usually have 1 hour to take an exam test, which may cause a lot of stress and anxiety for them. Another drawback is the fact that they might be tested from subjects learnt a long time ago. As a result, they need to overstudy to recapitulate every content, as they will only have 1 or 2 exams of each class to be evaluated from. As for the benefits, it may be easier for teachers to assess a wide number of students in a limited period of time. It also gives tutors more control over plagiarism and cheating, as exams tend to have an invigilator in the classroom, helping to establish a standard and a safety environment. Therefore, in comparison to continual assignments for example, which have more space to copy information from the internet or from fellows, the exam method stands out incomparably. To conclude, there are negatives and positive aspects of assessing students by exams rather than continual assessments. Even though exams might be a faster method for teachers to evaluate, as well as giving little space for copy and cheat, it can also lead to psychological issues for the students, leaving them stressed and anxious in order to get a satisfactory result.