Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, there has been an increase in assistance for the elderly people. Several seniors are being allocated in nursing centers and eldercare homes. Although it might bring benefits, there are also drawbacks to take into account. In this essay, I will discuss and support some of them with examples. To begin with, providing a care service for a senior may be a safe option for those who need specific attention. This is because such centers have more prepared staff to take care of people in this stage of life. They also have more knowledge to deal with extremely difficult diseases, like Alzheimer and Dementia for example, providing activities and helping them to recover their capabilities. Wherefore, with the right nurses, care staff and a good infrastructure, they can spend quality time in their final years. However, it can also generate some problems for the family and for the seniors themselves. Firstly, they might feel abandoned and alone at times, as many members of families tend to visit them less than they would expect. Secondly, it all comes with a high cost to help such care homes to maintain their employees, equipment, medications and expenses. Therefore, if the family and the elders are not aware of these inconveniences, they might get undesirable surprises along the way. In conclusion, having old parents taken care of by caregivers can be advantageous mainly because of their experience, patience and knowledge. Whereas, such eldercare services should raise awareness about the expenses of maintenance, as well as the most significant aspect of all: the solitude seniors might experience by not having their loved ones around.