Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family through mostly social network sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give some reason for your answer.

It is true that the youth of today tend to interact with friends and family through technology platforms more than conventional communication. While there are several drawbacks of the former means, I believe that the trend is a positive development. First of all, convenience is one of the principal reasons why social network sites are utilised as communication means by young people. In other words, those who have social network accounts can contact others anywhere within several seconds, so they exchange information at any time and even in the long-distance whenever they want. In the COVID-19 pandemic, most people who have to follow social-distancing regulations and stay at home have to communicate by online means. Zoom-an application, for instance, allowing students to learn and interact with classmates and teachers through inbox chat and video chat is an effective way, which replaces in-person communication at school. Second of all, given web-based services, such changes cut down on contact spending for users. For example, the youth no longer allocate their spending in telephone cards and paper-based mail, they may exchange information completely free through online platforms. Messenger or Instagram are regarded as the most popular applications which allow people to contact one another at no cost. However, the lack of interpersonal skills is to blame for social network sites among the youth in terms of communication skills. Indeed, those who socialise too much in social networks are more likely to find difficulty in spreading their ideas to others. For example, introverted people have a chance of expressing their feelings rather than somehow sharing in public sites, which reduces their capacity for teamwork skills and conflict resolution. In addition, it is the novel communication that leads to gap generation. While the aged struggle with using online platforms, the youth prefer them rather than traditional communication. Amid the situation, the difference in their interacting habits has a huge impact between reality relationships between the younger and counterparts. In conclusion, although the trend results in the lack of social skills and gap generation, it is supposed to be a positive development in terms of expenditure and spreading information.