Some people believe that housing is a basic human right for all individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that accommodation is an essential civil liberty for everyone. This essay strongly agrees with this statement because housing is necessary for human dignity and the physical and mental health of the person. Housing provides the basic needs to live in dignity. Housing provides people with a sense of security and stability and is an essential element for living with dignity. Moreover, without a home, a person loses their privacy and normal family life. For example, in the Syrian refugee crisis: millions of people have been forced to leave their homes and live in overcrowded camps that lack even the most basic amenities for privacy and normal life. This has prompted international organisations like the United Nations to affirm that housing is a basic human right that must be provided to protect human dignity. Accommodation protects the body from diseases and, at the same time, improves people ’s mental health. Having adequate housing protects against diseases associated with cold, heat or pollution. Therefore, people with stable housing are less likely to experience stress and depression than homeless people. For instance, in 2018, a World Health Organisation study with the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine showed that better housing directly improves health. Families moving from cold, damp homes to insulated housing experienced fewer respiratory illnesses like asthma and chest infections. Furthermore, they reported better mental health, as reduced exposure to coldness, dampness, and instability significantly lowered stress and enhanced overall well-being. In conclusion, suitable housing is a fundamental necessity for all, as it not only protects human dignity but also supports people ’s mental and physical well-being.