In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There are several disadvantages to giving this message to children. Above all, children may have an impossible dream due to this message. Even though the message seems hopeful, it is not realistic. In the real world, there might be goals and dreams which cannot be achieved by only efforts. For example, to become professional athletes like a basketball player, superior physical conditions such as long stature are essential. However, these are decided by not efforts but inborn conditions. Thus, if children who do not have innate conditions set the goals which inborn conditions are needed in accomplishing, most of them would be frustrated or fail after spending much time doing practices related to the goal. On the other hand, there are also advantages of the message to children. The main advantage is that the message can make children bright and positive in many ways. Generally, the personality of children is being formed for their childhood. At that time, the hopeful message definitely affects this process positively, which makes children have more positive views toward both the world and themselves. In many cases, this effect is being sustained until adulthood, which would be a decisive factor for making individual personality permanently. Furthermore, children who keep exercising in order to achieve their goal can find out their potential talents. Thus, the process for children to make a lot of efforts can bring another chance. Therefore, this attitude would give children many opportunities to find out or fulfil new goals even if they fail to achieve their original goals.