Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether a complete ban should be imposed on animal testing on moral grounds or whether it should be maintained due to its roles in the development of new therapeutic agents or testing potentially dangerous products. This essay will examine the logic behind the former view, but I still firmly agree with the latter. Those who argue that experiments on animals should be prohibited may have several arguments. They believe that animals are also living creatures with their feelings and emotions like people. Consequently, when a testing rabbit is shocked with electronics in drug-researching experiments, it will experience extreme pain, which is an unaccepted thing to apply the same action to humans. People should not treat animals with physical punishments even when they can withstand regardless these experiments served for useful purposes. Nevertheless, I believe that these kinds of studies are of great importance and should not be banned. Firstly, people are currently not able to simulate the activity of the brain and many other parts needed in disease research. Therefore, the use of animals is still essential. Secondly, due to the biological similarity between humans and animals, experimenting on animals will bring more positive results that other ways of experiments. Finally, many people believe that the human family can clone many experimental animals and help them reproduce in large numbers, for long-term research. Therefore, there will be no situation where the number of animals is reduced or even extinct. In conclusion, it is undeniable that animal testing may have certain limitations. However, I think that this practice is still necessary and thus should be allowed for the time being.