Nowadays consumer goods are cheaper to buy. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the advance in manufacturing, the price of consumer goods has dropped significantly in recent years. While I admit that this trend has some demerits, I believe that the advantages clearly outweigh them. On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are several drawbacks of cheaper consumer goods. First of all, low-priced items might encourage overproduction and excessive consumption. The more products people consume, the more garbage they throw into the environment. Therefore, inexpensive products could lead to some detrimental effects on our planet. Second, it is likely that a number of companies would enhance their competitive capability by lowering the price as much as they can. As a result, many small companies and start-ups that do not own strong financial backgrounds might be deeply in debt or even go bankrupt. However, I would argue that cheaper items have a wide range of benefits to society as well as individuals. Firstly, due to the decrease in the price of consumer goods, impoverished people could be able to make ends meet. Affordable commodities help low-income families purchase fundamental goods and gradually improve their living standard. Secondly, cheapening modern goods make s modern technology and other innovations more accessible to citizens. For instance, in the past smartphones were lavish items that only affluent individuals could purchase. However, the number of people who own smartphones has grown dramatically over the years because of the drop in this item’s price. Since modern devices are cheaper and accessible to everyone, they change the way people work positively and enhance labor productivity. In conclusion, inexpensive goods might trigger some drawbacks but the advantages overshadow them. Consumers should avoid mindless consumption, only by doing so that they can utilize the benefits of cheaper goods without damaging the environment.