Art classes such as painting or drawing are important for children's development, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Since art classes such as painting, drawing significantly contribute to children’s overall development, many people claim that those classes should be mandatory in the school curriculum. While it is true that we cannot overlook the importance of art subjects, I disagree with the view that they should be compulsory. To begin with, there are several advantages of art classes. Firstly, since arts satisfy people’s spiritual and emotional needs, they help students to reduce the stress arising from the intensity of academic subjects. If children concentrate completely on the academic field without participating in art, they would easily suffer from a high level of stress and anxiety. Secondly, since many outstanding artists have been discovered by their art teachers, adding art classes to school curriculum might help to find the students who have a talent for this field. For example, my friend, whose artworks are being displayed at the Vietnamese Fine Arts Museum, was recognized by his primary school teacher. However, I do not think that students should be forced to attend art classes. The first reason is that since art subjects do not provide essential knowledge, they might be a waste of time for students who have clear career objectives in fields such as finance, business or technology. Another reason is that only a minority of individuals are born with art -related talent and the rest of them might not be interested in painting, drawing or singing. For instance, the children who are tone-deaf might feel embarrassed when they are forced to sing in front of the class. In conclusion, while art subjects are beneficial to human’s development to some extent, I believe that they should only be optional because they are not suitable for all students.