Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Certain schools have decided to restrict the use of mobile phones. This might have become a necessity because of the continuous growth of the popularity of these devices. Even though mobile phones sometimes can be useful in many aspects, I support the idea that the restriction was a positive development because it can bring benefits in the learning process and social development. Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. The reason for this is that phones can be very distracting for both children and adults, they create an urge to check if anything is happening, an unfortunate result of their high addictiveness. For example, the buzzing sound or the vibration when a new message arrives can completely withdraw the attention of the student or the teacher from what is being taught. This is not only negative for the student itself but can be a problem to the dynamic of the classroom as a whole and the motivation of the teachers. Therefore, the restriction is helpful to avoid this situation or overcome this scenario in a classroom already affected by this problem. Another point is that with the restriction of smartphones students will be more likely to develop their social skills. The phones could be too attractive for someone and indirectly make them avoid having any interaction with someone else during the class breaks, or even in the group activities promoted on school for instance. Moreover, phones can have a detrimental role in a person's health, because it might make them less interested in physical activities at school. And those problems could be easily fixed by adding regulations over mobile phones, it can improve the student's overall health, social skills and their well-being in general. In conclusion, I believe that restricting or even banning completely the use of mobile phones on schools could be very positive on the experience of the students, even though it might generate some discussions about it, I really think that most people also support this same opinion. In addition, we are able to observe this in practice and take our own conclusions when taking this decision.