Write about the following topic: “Do you think extra-curricular activities are important in a student’s life?” Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is such a spectrum of extra-curricular activities available nowadays, ranging from gardening to reading and playing sports. When discussing the importance of these, it is vital to note that not every student will shine in the classroom, and some may stumble across something they are passionate about or somewhere they really excel in - outside of the classroom. Whilst academia is of the upmost importance, extra-curricular activities play an essential role in aiding the development of a wide array of skills outside of the classroom, thus making sure that students are well-rounded. During year 7, I took up debate classes after school which broadened my knowledge on a variety of topics, such as the death penalty, and compelled me to conduct my own research and form my own opinions on topics that would otherwise not be covered by the national curriculum. My critical thinking skills were enhanced when having to filter through the numerous sources on the internet, and I learnt how to look at the other side of an argument, even though it may not necessarily be in line with my personal thoughts and beliefs. As well as that, I took up badminton weekly after school, which not only improved my team-working skills, but actually increased my fitness and encouraged me to always take part in some sort of sporting activity throughout my adult life. It was the start of my fitness journey, and to this day, I still love playing badminton! Some may argue that such activities may distract students from the real aim of school - studying hard to pass exams. Time spent at after school clubs may take-away from homework time, resulting in the student falling behind during school hours, and becoming unmotivated. This inevitably will have a knock-on effect on other subjects. Certain schools charge a fee for classes taken after school and those whose parents are unable to afford the extra fees might find themselves feeling left-out and divided from the others, so it would be better to abandon these classes altogether. In conclusion, skills developed outside of the classrom can be carried through life, and come of use at a far greater rate than in-classroom topics, such as physics, perhaps. Therefore, it can be a wonderful idea. However, it is important to keep on top of your studies first and not allow yourself to be sidetracked by things occurring outside of the school hours.