Successful companies use advertisement to make more sales. What can make an advertisement very effective? Do you think this is a bad thing or a good thing for the society?

In the modern world, advertising has become an essential part of marketing.There are several things that can make a commercial powerful. I personally believe it has more negative impacts on society than the positives. Throughout this essay, I will explain it in detail. To begin with, celebrities are the first tool that companies use to make a successful advertisement. People who follow different artists, tend to use or buy the same products for their own self-satisfaction. This trick especially used in cosmetic and perfume industries. The second best marketing master plan is, they deliver a message in a short period of time. It can attract many people withing a few seconds. For instance, in a 2 minutes YouTube video, at least there are 2 to 4 different ads can be played to promote various items. Thus, using famous artists and delivering a message within a short amount of time are the reasons why advertisements are very powerful in the modern generation. According to my personal view, it creates various bad impacts on society and the environment. Individuals tend to spend more money on unnecessary branded products since they think that is a way of measuring the status of living. Therefore, some families who earn low-income struggle to purchase some items and they will eventually lose their self-confident. Furthermore, printed flyers and posters can cause environmental pollution. For example, a study done in Colombo University found out printed posters, billboards contribute 35% of environmental pollution. Hence, it is certain that there are several drawbacks in this trend. To sum up, even though, using world-famous artists and supplying details in a very short time are the main reasons for successful advertisements,in my opinion, there are various negative impacts for society and the environment as well.