Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

As the advancement of information technology is getting more sophisticated, utilizing computers in pedagogy is becoming a norm. Although there are many disputes towards using IT for educational purposes, it is my belief that computers can bring a massive number of merits to both instructors and learners. One the one hand, people who argue that the use of computers can engender negatives find this reasonable since should computers take the dominance in the classrooms, students will lack the interaction with their tutors and classmates, which leads to a diminishing of their emotional and cognitive development. Furthermore, unpleasant consequences may also include the inconsistency of this device because no matter how intelligent they are, they are machines that require the monitor of human beings. This may cause not only the interruption of learners in that duration but also issues that suddenly force instructors to stop their class abruptly. On the other hand, it is undeniable that computers can do wonders to the classroom experience. Not until the invention of computers did the lives of mankind in general and education in specific become that pleasant. The advantageous effect of this device can be witnessed in interactive games for learners, the clear demonstration of the lesson, or even vivid explanations of abstract concepts through images and videos. Moreover, computers can give a hand in lowering the workload of teachers as they are being automated. Teachers are no longer buried in piles of homework and exam papers, which are in need of grading, thanks to computers. In conclusion, despite the demerits computers may cause to a lesson, I’m still intrigued by the positives they provide their users in widening their horizons. Therefore, I believe that the usage of this technological device will bring essential advantages to both learning and teaching.