In developing countries, children in rural communities have less access to education. Some people believe that the problem can be solved by providing more schools and teachers, while others think that the problem can be solved by providing computers and Internet access. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In developing nations, children belonging to rural areas often suffer from limited educational resources. Although some individuals emphasize that this issue can be resolved by establishing more schools; however, others present the idea of equipping them with modern technologies. In my opinion, establishing new institutes is the best option. On the one hand, schools and teachers are still fundamental to the objective of making education accessible to countryside students. Firstly, schools serve a number of purposes other than providing places for classes. More importantly, schools also function as meeting places for students to learn the importance of collaborating and socialising with other people, provide an ideal learning environment for further study and maintain the discipline of students through regular attendance. Secondly, owing to poor access to systematic and constant education in the first place, students in remote areas are unlikely to study by themselves effectively. In other words, teachers are required in the learning process because they can acknowledge these students’ deficiencies and help them to solve their problems by repeating the same explanation, giving suitable exercises or even tutoring them privately. On the other hand, I believe there are good reasons to supply these rural students with computers and Internet connection. The fundamental reason is that these devices enable the students to pursue study programmes despite the fact that these students live in distant areas. For example, students can use the computer and the Internet to participate in webinars from universities or work with the teachers through emails. This idea would seem more feasible than sending teachers to remote regions to teach. Another reason is that the computer can be a useful learning tool with educational software. There are many computer programmes which contain a comprehensive course of self-study these days so that the students can use these software applications without travelling out of their hometowns. In conclusion, people have their own views on how to provide education for rural students. I believe that technology would offer a more plausible solution for the reasons mentioned above.