People prefer to shop from super markets than local. What are the reason behind it.

In the last decade, there has been a shift in the way individuals shop everyday commodities. In the past, people had to visit multiple stories in order to obtain what they required but nowadays the process has been simplified. I would like to speak from my personal experience. Back in the day, my parents would set aside Sundays for grocery shopping. They would prepare a list on what was required for the week, the list would contain commodities that were available in multiple local shops. We would begin our journey and head out to multiple stores to gather what was written in the list. This task would take us almost half a day to complete. After the rise of super markets in my current city, my parents have been drawn towards shopping from the super markets as it's convenient, efficient and saves a-lot of time. Everything is available under one roof! The week is busy, hectic and tiresome for many due to work, purchasing weekly supplies is a mundane activity, it becomes even more tiresome if one has to go from one place to another in order to gather supplies. Hence a super market, is preferred. The question that remains unanswered is whether the produce available at the local store much fresher than the supermarket? In my opinion, the reason for opting for a supermarket over a local store is only out of sheer convenience so that people can have some time back to themselves.