In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The way we work has changed over the past decade. While some people still travel to their workplace, others work remotely without spending their time on the way. This has all become possible after the birth of the internet, smartphones, and computers. Some of the individuals’ work is completely connected with computers and there is no way to work without them. This essay will discuss the both cons and pros of this statement. Nowadays, the number of people working from home is increasing day by day, and there are more advantages to people working from home. First of all, it is staggeringly convenient to work from home, because some citizens may live far away from their workplace. The pandemic in 2020 has completely changed most of the people's lives; universities and schools were forced to work and study from home, and the government supported its citizens subsidizing computers or laptops for those who were in need. Another advantage is that you have the possibility to work for companies in other countries through the use of the internet. More and more opportunities took place on social media, providing people to earn money as bloggers and freelancers. For instance, if the blogger advertises the product on his/her Instagram, the number of consumers of that product will entirely grow, thereby those people work wherever they want. On the other hand, working from home could be a disadvantage for some people. Traveling to work and working in an office can be a very sociable activity with other coworkers, especially for students who live on their own. Without this social interaction, many people might feel very lonely. Furthermore, many people may lack sufficient discipline to complete the work they need to do without colleagues around. Secondly, not all people can afford personal devices for the whole family if their children study online. In conclusion, the world is changing, and there is no way people stay the same, hence they have to get used to those changes. Perhaps, an ideal arrangement would be to spend part of the working week in the office and another half of the week at home, with a certain amount of comfort and flexibility.