The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree

The trend of shopping online has spiralled manifolds in recent times. It is certainly true that it has overshadowed the presence of traditional way of shopping but I do not agree that they will close the shops entirely due to certain reasons. The number of shoppers on the online portals is on a rise. They provide comfort to its customers which is the predominant reason for people to prefer it over a mall or a shop. The hassle one may avoid, for example, in contrast to visiting a crowded mall is sufficient enough to attract the buyers towards web-based shopping model. Also, the huge discounts and offers these websites provide are attractive enough to fetch the market. Myntra, Flipkart and Amazon, for instance, are the giants of this domain who have captured the market considerably and thus, affecting the offline business on a large scale. Conversely, a certain demographic of society still rely on the traditional method of buying. It is mainly because the real charm of shopping is when there is physical contact between the buyer and the product. Weird indeed! but is true that when we touch the product and buy, it gives a feel of shopping unlike clicking the random pictures and filling your cart virtually. Apart from the happiness, we gain by shopping in real, likewise, it is realistic in the case where we want to buy cheap and lesser quantity which is not possible on these sites as there is a minimum order value we can place. Therefore, in such unavoidable situations rushing to the shop next door would be the only option left, making the survival of small shops inextricable. In conclusion, it is unarguable that these websites have taken over a major share of the market but I am sure the future of old-style shops is not obscure due the inevitable services and products they offer to their defined clientage.