In recent years, there has been a considerable rise in crimes committed by young people in cities. What has caused this? What solutions can you suggest?

An upward trend of youth involvement in crimes has been observed in recent time. Limited educational support can be considered as one of the reasons and alternatives for formal school can be of a resolution to avoid such problem. Crimes in the urban areas are remarkably committed by the out of school youth. This is because these young people have no formal guidance, especially adult supervision, on a day-to-day basis. Most of these kids roam randomly around the city without a logical or reasonable purpose that may end up with them engaging in wrongful activities from the bad influence they can encounter on the streets. For instance, in the Philippines, there are so-called "rugby boys" who inhale a substance locally known as rugby, which is originally used as an adhesive. When inhaled, it makes a person put in a state of euphoria that makes one confident in doing acts that is most likely wrongful ones. If these children are at an academy, it is highly likely that adult presence may influence them to other more meaningful and rational acts. To resolve this issue, education, formal or informal, for the youngs must be greatly focused. Higher budget by higher tax collection could be imposed to build more classrooms, hire more teachers and provide school paraphernalia. Furthermore, if traditional schooling cannot be possible, an outreach program involving vocational courses could be set up as well. This will give the youngsters a sense of structure and will aid them in having a straight path in life. A very clear example of this is a course in the Philippines wherein unenrolled kids or young adults can engage in livelihood programs that teach various courses that can be used as a source of living like bartending, sewing, making pots and the like. In conclusion, the inability to stay in school due to limited access or funds is essentially one of the causes as to why a spike in the number of young people engages in unlawful activities. Education is considered to be the backbone in order to give the young stability, guidance and pull them out of the world of criminality.