Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't really need. Others say that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, advertising has transformed the way goods and services are sold in global markets. Any product has the capability to become an overnight sensation if it is marketed well. This essay will discuss why advertisements play a pivotal role in improving lives by informing people of the essential products available in the market. Some people believe that advertisements create needs in the minds of the consumers and provoke them to purchase these products. However, it is true that a need is created but it is also worth noting that advertisements only inform people about the availability of the products and there is no brainwashing involved. For example, dishwashers are installed in all households; however, some people still prefer to clean dishes using their hands. Evidently, advertisements about dishwashers only inform customers about their benefits; the decision to buy or not to buy lies with the consumer. People often blame advertisements for increasing household expenses by promoting unnecessary purchasing amongst buyers. It is important to understand the post-purchase benefits and then weigh them against the cost of these products. For example, the sales of solar portable chargers increased by 30% in 2019, after their viral advertisement went online depicting their advantages. Although these chargers were more expensive than their electrical counterparts, they made it possible to charge the phone on the go and hence were preferred by consumers. In a nutshell, this essay discussed the importance of advertisements in transforming lives by informing people of the new products in the market that can make their lives less stressful. It is important that people who believe that advertisements are a sham, move ahead with time and improve their lives by benefitting from these advertised products.