Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, there is a significant increase in replacing traditional classrooms with online courses at some universities in the world. In my opinion, this change could have both benefits and drawbacks. On one hand, the disadvantages of these developments could be concerned with verbal communication and classroom management. The first drawback is that students can not utilize spoken communication skills in a distance learning classroom. Students would have fewer opportunities to interact face-to-face with their classmates and lecturers. Therefore the experience of discussion and exchange of ideas might be lost. the students may usually rely on written forms of communicating and will instead of coming into direct contact with each other. Furthermore, in the management angle, teachers would not be able to fully manage their classes. this is because they can not exactly know if students are using computers for learning or doing entertainment activities, such as surfing the Internet, watching movies, or playing video games. On the other hand, the rise in online education can be seen as positive for both flexibility and financial aspects. Firstly, from a learner’s perspective, online courses allow students to receive education in a flexible way. With a computer and Internet connection, learners can work whenever and wherever is convenient. Students can record the lessons and cover the soft material at their own pace. Secondly, from a financial point of view, both educational institutions and students would gain benefits from learning and teaching online. More students could be provided reasonable price courses from well-known universities while revenues for institutions may increase. The main reason for this is that there is a great reduction in costs of handout materials for students and maintaining facilities. In conclusion, although there are some negative impacts on distance studying courses, it is clear that they are a positive development in education.