The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is true that many older people believe in traditional values that often seem incompatible with the needs of younger people. I partly agree with this idea because while I opine that some traditional ideas are outdated, I believe that others are still useful and should not be forgotten. On the one hand, there are some justifications for why the things elderly people have about life are becoming less relevant for younger people. For example, in the past, people were advised to learn a profession and find a secure job for life, but today’s workers expect much more variety and diversity from their careers. Additionally, the ‘rules’ around relationships are being eroded as young adults make their own choices about who and when to marry. But perhaps the greatest disparity between the generations can be seen in their attitudes towards gender roles. The traditional roles of men and women, as breadwinners and housewives, are no longer accepted as necessary or appropriate by most younger people. On the other hand, some traditional views and values are certainly applicable to the modern world. For example, older generations attach great importance to working hard, doing one’s best, and taking pride in one’s work, and these behaviours can surely benefit young people as they enter today’s competitive job market. Other characteristics that are perhaps seen as traditional are politeness and good manners. In our globalised world, young adults can expect to come into contact with people from a huge variety of backgrounds, and it is more important than ever to treat others with respect. Finally, I believe that young people would lead happier lives if they had a more ‘old-fashioned’ sense of community and neighbourliness. In conclusion, although I admit that the views of older people may sometimes seem unhelpful in today’s world, I still believe that we should not dismiss all traditional ideas as irrelevant. This is due to the fact that some conventional values still have positive impacts on offspring.