Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that literature shouldn’t be teached at high school because students spend enormous time on reading of works of poetry, drama, fiction and non-fiction. Personally, I strongly disagree that literature should be removed from the list of subjects, particularly given that students not only receive the knowledge about their cultural value, but they expand their horizons. One of the greatest reasons of the study literature is that it has cultural value. Cultures are built on stories, which may be historical, mythical or religious. Historical stories, allow us to learn about history in an easier way. The stories told in works of literature illustrate how it would feel to live through famous battles, famines, times of prosperity and times of depression. For example, a book «Gone with the Wind» by Margaret Mitchell, can help students understand what people faced when The American Civil War started. The second important reason of the study of literature is that it expands students’ horizons. When they read a piece of literature, they get to read about a life experience through the eyes of someone other than themselves. They get to walk in the shoes of a character whose life is different than their own. Such reading offers them the opportunity to feel the feelings of the characters described, allowing them to understand things through a fictional world. In conclusion, the study of literature is very essential even in the practical world of today. Students need to study literature to understand the world and its people better.