Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have a huge negative effect on both society and individuals. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Social networking has become an increasingly debatable topic in recent times. Quite a number of people are of the opinion that socialization on online applications effects negatively on individuals and the environment. Personally, I am inclined to believe that socializing on the internet has a lot of positive contributions to one's life. This essay will argue that these online sites despite their demerits have a huge number of benefits. Admittedly, these days, most people spend reasonable occasions on their phones surfing the internet and meeting people there. This time should be better spent interacting with friends physically as well as, creating innovations to improve their lives. Furthermore, excess phone time ends up creating a disconnection between families and friends. To illustrate, a person who has a business online will spend more time on their gadgets rather than enjoying the company of their folks. Despite these disadvantages, the internet has helped more people than not. The act of social networking creates a platform for people to make acquaintances that will help them in future. Moreover, businesses online are thriving in recent times. For instance, a recent study which was done among entrepreneurs in New York City shows that the most successful ones have online branches and applications like WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram and Twitter have helped their marketing. The benefits of this cannot be over-emphasized. In conclusion, socializing online has done more good than harm to individuals, their community and the world's economy. In my opinion, the platform should be improved rather than discredited. This essay argued that while there are drawbacks of using online sites, it is more beneficial.