People continue to recommit crimes even after being penalized for their wrongdoings. Why do you think this happens? How can crimes be stopped?

There is a growing trend towards the occurrence of repeat offenders in society in recent decades. While there are some driving forces behind the curtain, several viable measures could be taken to mitigate this phenomenon. To start with, there are a host of compelling reasons leading to recommit crimes. The main cause among contributing factors is discrimination towards criminals after they are released from prison. In fact, few employers are enthusiastic about hiring felons. Because they are afraid that employees might recommit crimes during the working process which leads to production interruption as well as budget deficits, thereby giving offenders no chance of landing a job and bettering their quality of life. Furthermore, it is difficult for criminals to reintegrate into society after spending a lengthy period of time in prison due to a lack of hands-on experience and practical skills, not to mention that the absence of aftercare services or support programs exist. Last but not least, criminals might also suffer from substance abuse including a dependence on alcohol and drugs, which is hard to overcome after gaining freedom leading to poor decisions. In terms of solving the situation, crimes can be reduced in a variety of ways. The most prominent of which is education, the curriculum should place a great emphasis on the vital importance of following laws and regulations at a small age to ensure future compliance with laws. Another measure can be that governments should focus on rehabilitation of criminals rather than punishment such as organizing vocational training in prison to equip offenders with experience and skills which helps them stand job opportunities after release. All in all, people continue to commit crimes because of the prejudice towards criminals, the sufficiency of supportive programs, and suffering from unhealthy addictions. Solving these crucial issues starts with education and ensuring that criminals are ready to re-enter society.