In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about a gap between the rich and the poor and how to end it. Some argue that earning a lot of money by a few people is beneficial for the country, whereas others disagree and think that there should be a limit on how high salary can be. Even though both sides have convincing arguments, I believe that there are better solutions to decrease the aforementioned gap. To begin with, people, who support control over workers’ salaries, believe that limiting the possible income would bring more equality in society. Consequently, it would prevent the rich from gaining unfair ascendancy over certain aspects of society. Moreover, capping high salaries will increase the amount of funding for public services which will benefit all people in society. On the other hand, this solution is hurtful for highly skilled and talented people who should be rewarded for their hard work. Some jobs are extremely dangerous or unpleasant. A high salary is a way to entice people to do them. For instance, an underwater welder is one of the most perilous careers but contemporaneously is needed in society. Seldom can we encourage people to consider working in such fields without offering them an accurate reward, therefore it would be irresponsible to withdraw it. Additionally, if the government controlled salaries, people would simply leave a country to seek work somewhere else. As a result, a country would lack specialists in many fields. In conclusion, the government should certainly do something to lessen the disparity. However, I have no doubt that putting the limit of the amount of money people can earn is not the best way to do that. Instead, the government should empower the poor people and help them earn a good salary by offering them free education and training.