Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.”

It is often argued that prison should be the only punishment for all lawbreakers, while others think that there are better alternatives. This essay will discuss both views, before coming to the conclusion that both are equally valid. Firstly, prison is definitely a good form of punishment for any kind of law-breaking. In other words, people sometimes don't care about the law because of light punishments, such as 5$ for overspeeding, 10$ for parking faults, 200$ for driving with alcohol etc. These kind of penalties make people not to care about the law. The government can put them in prison for a minimum of 2 hours to a lifetime, depending on the crime category. Furthermore, people should feel the loneliness of prison that can prevent them from repeating the same mistake. For example, In Bangladesh, the government has revised currency penalties to prison against some categories of law-breaking. On the other hand, prison has some severe bad impacts on our personal life. For instance, a man or woman can be humiliated socially. In society, people generally see them negatively and abandon them from different social activities or invitations, like marriages, birthday programs, religious programs etc. Punishment in prison against small faults, may ruin someone's career due to depression, demotivation etc. and lead them into drug addiction. In conclusion, both statements have negative and positive views. I believe that some balanced punishments can be implemented for equilibrium which allows people to feel the worst sides of the faults and not to repeat that again.