The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that instead of being in the presence of another to engage in human interaction, it has become increasingly popular for people to use social media, which can lead to the facilitation of people’s relationships as well as conducting business. Some disadvantages that this phenomenon has, however, such as the discouragement of real relationships or the deterioration in human health, have led to my conviction that the overall effect of social media is negative. One the one hand, the widespread use of social media certainly has some advantages. By using social networking sites such as Facebook or Instagram, people can maintain contact with their significant friends and family members, regardless of geographical locations. Features like Messenger or Video Call on these sites allow individuals to send pictures or talk with their overseas relatives, which can help strengthen the bond between them. Furthermore, rather than going to a physical office to work, a number of people can now do business online since they can easily establish pages and groups on Facebook to promote their products. This not only helps them to save substantial costs associated with renting an office or hiring staff but also allows these business owners to approach more customers. Despite certain benefits mentioned above, I would argue that the use of social media has more drawbacks. First, promoting the use of social networking sites instead of engaging in real conversations might isolate people and discourage real relationships. For example, despite a huge number of friends made via Instagram, my brother still suffers from loneliness and isolation and struggles to interact with his peers at school. Second, a huge amount of time spent online for communication may exert a detrimental effect on people’s health. In fact, the prolonged exposure to screen has been linked to many health problems, such as obesity or worsening eyesight, which have been on the increase in recent years. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the disadvantages of using social media as the primary means of communication outweigh the positive effects that it has.