Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Some cities are often believed to face a looming crisis concerning their overcrowding, which is the root of various problems. There is widespread concern about one of the main issues related to the degradation of the environment, which is probably could be resolved by certain measures such as implementing green infrastructure in cities by local authorities along with environmental-friendly behaviour from city dwellers. The most principal challenge for overpopulated cities is air pollution and soil contamination. Rarely do people realize the impact of numerous amount of private motor vehicles participating in traffic. which are in turn causing an intense emission of exhaust gases. As a result, these toxic and harmful health substances promote smog in the air as well as acid precipitation which then pollutes the groundwater. To illustrate, in 2017, the United States transportation system contributed more than half of the carbon monoxide and nitrogen oxides emitted into the air, which has caused an increase by one - third respiratory ailments like asthma and bronchitis. On the one hand, it is quite evident that one of the possible measures to be introduced by the government for solving this problem is providing a green ecosystem in and around the urban areas promoting by the government. On no account should the impact of trees producing oxygen and cleaning the air by acting as giant filters, removing harmful particles and pollutants be ignored. On the other hand, not only should the local authorities being involved in reducing environmental impact, but also urban residents play a significant role in this approach by moving to fuel-efficient vehicles that use less oil, or produce fewer emissions, and electric cars, that can entirely remove tailpipe emissions. On this occasion, strong state policies about requirements of car use are certain to be as additional maintenance. In conclusion, one of the main problems caused by high-density populating cities is environmental impairment, such as air pollution and soil contamination. One of the devised ways to solve this problem is concerning greening the environment in urban areas together with encouraging local citizens to switch to a more eco-friendly approach to using passenger vehicles, thereby reducing the influence on the environment