Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the number of cars on roads is dramatically increasing. As soon as a guy gets the license, the parents would buy a car for him as his first goods. Therefore, the amount of vehicles is not more suitable for the streets. I would say that I am quite sure about the statement above, but there are some aspects to take into account as well. As my point of view, the main factor of this evolution is the money, and as far as I know, the price of cars gets lower compare to 30 years ago. In other words, a family could afford an auto that can't before. Moreover, the spreading of the internet gives the possibility to sell used cars, making more affordable a young guy to buy one. For instance, you could find a car on any website with less than 1000 euro. Due to this increments of transports units in our streets, the governments should create new laws and build larger ways. They could limit the numbers of cars that a family can own, this might help the environment as well. Additionally, the payment of the roads in the city would reduce the number of people using their cars for hobby. So, only when there are a real needs a person would drive. On the other hand, there would be a sharp separation between poor and rich people. In conclusion, I agree with the fact of the reduction of traffic, but doing so, there could come up new social issues. The government has to think carefully and consider each case.