Some parents believe that children today spend too much time looking at screens. Others argue that this is necessary in the modern world. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The amount of time adolescents spend on various visual devices is increasing rapidly. There is some section of parents who are worried about the same, whilst others believe that it is an essential thing to do in order to live in the present world. This essay will shed light on both these arguments and provide a final viewpoint. The first school of thought is about children spending an excessive amount of time on various devices such as laptops, mobile phones, television etc. This is not only leading to wastage of precious time but also weakens their eyesight. This is because youngsters tend to get engrossed in the activities they are doing on the screen without considering the amount of time spent. They could have done more productive things instead of constantly staring at the screen. As per some recent surveys, young kids are spending 40% more time than what is required in using various electronic devices. This suggests that these concerns are not illegitimate. In contrast, there are others who are perfectly fine with their children spending time on the screens. They think it is vital to use such display devices in order to stay abreast of the things happening around them. There are a lot of tasks that are being done online. For instance, there are schools who prefer teaching online rather than asking their students to attend physically. Moreover, the interactive learning has emerged as an important part of children's education in the modern era. In my opinion, both arguments are valid. Hence, I would expect parents to strike the balance between both approaches. In other words, they should monitor the amount of time spent by their children in front of the screen and ensure that it is not unreasonably high. On the other hand, they should not completely restrict usage of screens as it is important in the overall development of children. To sum up, the concerns raised by parents whose kids spend a considerable amount of time using screens is genuine. However, those in support of using these are equally right. Hence, there should be a balanced approach that should be adopted such that there is a reasonable amount of use of the screens without compromising on the quality of education they receive.